FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2,599 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Visa is going IPO, rumored to be March 19 or 20th. It will be the largest single IPO, possibly sourcing 19 billion in funding. MasterCard went IPO about 2 years ago, and is currently trading over 400% above its IPO price, and Visa handles much much more CC transactions globally.

G

·
Aaaahhhhh - thanks for the layman's terms. I have an English degree, and hate math/finances. But since I have an English degree, it allows me to pay with the language....:D

·
Registered
2,599 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
been reading up on this for awhile...ever since they filed with the SEC last year. looks like the IPO is right around the corner, tons of news blurbs on it now. google visa ipo, for all the dirt.

·
Registered
3,519 Posts
Is there a reason they're going IPO? What are they planning to do that they need the funds?

·
Registered
2,599 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
i'm not on their board, so can't tell ya exactly. ;)

but...they do owe some $3 billion in litigation costs for various lawsuits. remember that class action lawsuit regarding using your visa for international transactions?

financially, it just makes sense, they have over 50% of the global market share, and seeing their biggest competitor, mastercard, take it to the bank in their IPO, lights a fire i'm sure. also, visa is the official sponsor of the beijing olympics, so getting the IPO out prior to this summer is also of strategic importance.

·
Registered
3,519 Posts
Thanks for the heads up. After pulling my money out of the stock market in in 99, I've been putting it in real estate. Not sure if I can gather a significant investment in such short notice. Thank you nevertheless. :)

Time to start reading.

·
Premium Member
1,996 Posts
Correct me if I'm wrong, but from what I read that means Visa will now be offering shares to the public, sounds like if you in on it from day one in the long run could be a deal