FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Brand newbie here. Been researching here and on the blue forum.

Wifey and I have taken a particular liking to hiking and exploring in the So Cal deserts and mountains. I’ve only lived in here for 29 years so I guess it’s about time. We need a vehicle that can take us off the beaten path, be reliable, have enough room to hold gear for at least 2, etc. Hence my being here. She loves the FJ and so do I so that is definitely the truck I am going to buy.

I’m targeting the following in my FJ:
  • Less than 100k miles
  • Under $25k (that would include mod budget so more like $20k purchase price)
  • Any color but white (I have an aversion to white cars - not a fan of silver either but of course it seems that’s all I can find - why can't they all be Army Green!!)
  • 4X4
In all honesty, I expect to do very little ‘wheeling’ as you kids call it. :) This will mostly be a means to an end for me but I want the 4X4 capability in case I need it and I do plan to join at least an occasional run with forum members to meet the crew, learn more about our local trails and develop my skills.

Thanks to the input here and the blue forum, I’ve learned quite a bit. Mainly not to worry about options and the like as it’s typically better and less expensive to add them after the fact. I’m not sure if that calculations changes when buying used so any and all advice is appreciated.

I have a few specifics to ask about some of the options on the FJ:
  • Locking rear diff - can this be done after market? How much would it cost?
  • ATRAC - how is the hack for this working out?
  • Rear power outlet - I know I would use this, can it be added aftermarket or should I try to get this already installed?
  • 3-gauge cluster with the temp, compass and inclinometer (sp?) I’m a sucker for gauges - some of the 4X4’s I’ve seen don’t have them. Can it be added?