FJ Cruiser Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Ordinary Extraordinaire
8,396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Steven, feel free to tweak this as I'm not very good at structure.

Maps
Types
How to and supplementary info

GPS (Do not rely on GPS units as your primary source of navigation.)
types/brands/ reviews and capability
1 Offroad
a)Lowrance Globalmap 540c
video-compatible 5-pin Ethernet expansion port, and increased
Nand-flash memory for greater built-in background mapping detail.
For superb viewing even in bright sunlight, the Baja 540c features a
5-inch diag., 480x480 pixel, 16-bit color TFT LCD display, supported
by adjustable screen and keypad backlighting for navigating at night
or in low-light conditions.
The Baja 540c delivers 12-parallel channel GPS+WAAS reception for precision location accuracy, via the
likewise-rugged external Baja LGC receiver/antenna module. A weather- and dust-proof MMC/SD memory
card slot accepts a wide variety of affordable Lowrance high-detail mapping options with plug-&-play ease.
Those include the new FreedomMaps™ USA EX Topo mapcards with a choice of 5 regional coverage areas,
now including Alaska.
The Baja 540c stores up to 1,000 waypoints, 1,000 event markers, 100 routes (up to 100 waypoints per
route), and up to 100 savable plot trails with up to 10,000 points in any trail. There are 40 map display
ranges, from .02 to 4,000 miles, and 42 different graphic icons to mark spots. Point-and-map cursor
navigation and route planning is simplified, while convenient Menu and Pages keys afford easy access to a
wealth of navigation features and modes.
The internal back-up memory keeps preferred settings and stored data safe and accessible for years, and
the case is completely sealed for use in the harshest of environments.

How to and supplementary info
Cheat sheet
Setting up your GPS
Use these settings for racing or making trails.