FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Banned
3,370 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so how should i go about it?? I've read the DMV's website but you know how that is.. they try to confuse you.

I already know how to ride motorcycle, and i've road all kinds of 'em. So i got that part out of the way.

But from what i understand, you have to take a motorcycle riding course??? If i do, i found a course that actually happens every weekend at my college.

Please someone give me the low down on this...

G

·
Ok, don't take my word for this but I AM an expert in this area.

Go to the DMV. Get the driver handbook (in English, or any other language you may enjoy) :D. Study. Take the written test for your permit.

When you pass the written for your permit, call the Motorcycle Safety Foundation at:

Costa Mesa: 877-651-9132

Irvine: 949-727-4464

Mission Viejo: 949-713-9754

Set up your 2-day class. After you take (and pass) the safety course (using their bikes), take the certificate to the DMV. This will be an acceptable substitute for the driving portion of the DMV test. You will then be licensed to drive a motorcycle (Class M1). This certificate will also be good to get a discount on your motorcycle insurance.

The class costs about $250-300 for the two days. The first day is mostly classroom, with some practical application. The second day is all practical.

www.msf-usa.com

G

·
Looks good! It has all the benefits I posted earlier. Every officer at my station that goes and buys a new bike I point to this class. They have all come back and said it's a great class, and would highly recommend it.

Then, after you get a year or 2 of serious riding under your chaps, then you can take the advanced course. This gives you even more of a discount on your MC insurance rates.

·
Registered
3,519 Posts
Dom, Dave is right. Take the courses at local colleges and you can waive the riding test. All you do at the DMV is a written exam.

·
Banned
3,370 Posts